5 Days of Gratitude (Day 5)

Today is the final day of this gratitude challenge. I believe this was the perfect first building block (my own personal base camp… Sherpas not included…) as I work towards overcoming social anxiety. I have noticed that as the week progressed, I became much more comfortable in social situations and just all around more at peace with myself. Which lead to a lot less keeping to myself and more reaching out; clearly a result of gratitude!

Today I am grateful for:

For Glennon Doyle, Cheryl Strayed, Rob Bell, and Brene Brown, who’s words always find a way to comfort me. As well as their wisdom and many lessons, which not only remind me to be brave, but always help to pick me back up when I have fallen.

howwild

For not giving up even though sometimes it’s all I feel like doing; just throwing in the towel and running away, into the woods…. Never to be seen again.

For a slow morning. I am not sure how this happened, but today is going slow and I’m loving it.

For no longer fighting with my husband. We’ve been on edge lately, I’m so glad the tide has started to turn.

For my brother who listens and never brushes me off.

For bravery. Though my steps are small, my march towards a braver life is constant.

For looking back on who I used to be and being able to see how far I’ve come.

For love and forgiveness.

For the people who keep choosing me; for loving me just the way I am.

For writing, because it’s the only thing that lets the madness out.

For life! Beautiful, chaotic, maddening, wonderful life!

For this challenge.

IMG_0081

Finding gratitude is a natural way of changing your perspective. It’s tilting your personal world view into clearer vision. Last week all I could think about was everything that was going wrong. The more I thought about all the things that weren’t right, the more things went wrong. As soon as I chose gratitude I stopped seeing everything that was wrong. It was as if my brain only wanted to pick up and focus on the things that were making me happy.

 

My plan is to find a way to make this a daily practice. I’m excited to see how much my happiness and anxiety will improve by journaling my gratitude daily.

I will report back in a month!

Anyone else keeping a daily gratitude journal? I’d love to hear your experience. 

One thought on “5 Days of Gratitude (Day 5)

Leave a Reply

